• /
  • /
The reason why guests leave: factors that lead to the loss of clients, revenue and reputation
Any restaurant owner knows that to attract a new customer is much more difficult than keep the current customer. However, the low quality of service destroys the loyalty of regular customers. We analyze common reasons why the guests were refused to be served and explore how effective employee management helps to avoid such cases.

Minus 200 guests due to the lack of initiative

There is a real example: the SteadyControl personnel control and management system showed the federal chain of bakeries that poor efficiency of cashiers led to the loss of traffic. So, statistics gathered during one month showed that 200 clients refused the service. The main reason is the lack or no initiative of an employee. The guests were simply left alone with the menu and they could not make their choice and walked away without buying anything. The average bill was 160 rubles. Thus, the business lost the revenue of 32 000 rubles on this process.

The interface of SteadyControl system

The absence of an employee

Communicating with the guests and taking orders are not the only tasks of the line personnel. Sometimes the client comes in and the cashier is busy accepting goods, working with documentation or other processes. On average, a visitor of public catering may wait up to 30 seconds. The example can be the service at the food court: if there is an opportunity to make a purchase elsewhere — the client will prefer this option to a long wait.

It is important not only to inform the employees about the priority of their tasks but to control the compliance with standards. SteadyControl made it possible and very convenient: algorithms recognize the absence of an employee at workplace and inform about "lost" customers.

Lack of initiative of employees

However, being physically present at the location does not guarantee that the guest will make a purchase. The second most common reason for refusing the service is the indifferent employee. It may be difficult for a guest to navigate the menu, especially when it is their first visit. At the same time, according to SteadyControl HoReCa study, about 60% of guests face the lack of initiative.

When you see a confused guest, it is necessary to identify what they need and help in making their choice. Such a scenario should be written down in standards, backed up with certain wording and followed. For example, if a guest is confused — offer help, tell them about available promotions and seasonal specialties. The growth of initiative of each employee in "Sushi Wok", the largest chain of Japanese and Pan-Asian cuisine stores, led to the fact that customers are 80% less likely to leave the store without any purchase.


When you see a confused guest, it is necessary to identify what they need and help to make their choice.

Not being able to work out the stop-list

Just imagine, a guest has studied the menu in detail, makes the choice and receives a refusal in response. And if the guest was not offered some kind of alternative, the absence of certain dish leads the dialogue to a dead end. On average, due to inability to work out the stop-lists, catering business loses up to 15% of traffic.
Even if a guest came to get a specific product, but it is not available — do your best and make sure that they do not leave without any purchase. Let an employee show expertise and offer a replacement based on the customer’s preferences. Croissants are not available — tell the customer that the puffs have been just baked. You may add certain criterion to StreadyControl system, so that the employees have a clear plan, and you will monitor the percentage of compliance.

For example, in one of the largest Russian chains "Kroshka-Kartoshka" comprehensive efforts made on this process led to the fact that cases of lack of potatoes have decreased by 6 times. This allowed us to reduce the number of lost guests from 70 up to 5 per month.
SteadyControl system
Request a presentation
We will answer any questions, share the cases with you and calculate the cost of system implementation in your company
More than 50 000
employees with high performance

Refusing the guest because the restaurant is fully booked

You may come across such situation when a guest is refused to be seated in a restaurant and you can see that half of the tables are free there. So, it is quite natural that the guest is confused. A hostess may tell you that some tables are reserved but usually the reason for this is the staff inertia. For example, when the planned number of bills and revenue reaches the target, the employees can afford to refuse service. But such actions reduce the turnover of the table.

An efficient employee will always find a table for a guest and help with navigation in the restaurant. For example, they may tell the guest for how much time the table is reserved for and ask if the time before the reservation suits the guest. According to Khoros, high-quality service in 86% of cases is the main factor that turns a one-time customer into a regular one. Competent work of hostess will make the visitor feel welcomed and convince him to come back to the restaurant again.

SteadyControl system shows how many customers were refused to be served and what the reason was. Managers receive data on efficiency of all employees every day and can individually work with each case.

Employees being late and late opening time

Violations of the work schedule is not an obvious, but a system cause of losses. The work hours of each place depend on its location. For example, bakeries and coffee shops are usually located close to business centers and universities. To attract people during rush hours, the staff needs to come earlier and get everything ready for the opening time. But many line employees especially those involved in chain projects, open their places 10−15 minutes late. As a result, morning traffic and customer loyalty are lost, and a concept with perfect location turns into a loss-making project.

For example, bakeries of a large chain in Voronezh "Robin Sdobin" are located at bus stops. Each location should be opened early in the morning so that the guests will have enough time to buy freshly baked goods. SteadyControl helped to bring to ideal compliance with the opening hours: work discipline increased by 30% and reached its highest level and that played a great role in the increase of revenue by 5−20%.

Sometimes business focuses on strategic goals that require significant investment while simple violations of rules do not allow to reveal the potential of the concept. Improvement of basic processes will influence the revenue and help build stable and customer-focused service.

Materials on the topic

© 2022 SteadyControl HoReCa | User Agreement
  • About the system
  • Cases
  • Management
  • Analytics
Мы используем файлы cookie. Они помогают улучшить ваше взаимодействие с сайтом.

Почему гость общепита уходит: факторы потери трафика, выручки и репутации
Любой ресторатор знает, что привлечь нового клиента в разы дороже, чем удержать действующего. Однако низкое качество сервиса быстро разрушает лояльность даже постоянных гостей. Разбираем самые частые причины отказа от обслуживания в общепите и рассказываем, как эффективное управление персоналом помогает их избежать.

Минус 200 гостей из-за отсутствия инициативы

Реальный пример: система контроля и управления персоналом SteadyControl помогла федеральной сети пекарен выяснить, что низкая эффективность кассиров регулярно приводит к потере трафика. Так, статистика за месяц показала, что 200 клиентов отказались от обслуживания. Ключевая причина — отсутствие инициативы сотрудника. Посетителей просто оставляли наедине с меню, в результате чего гости не могли определиться с выбором и уходили без покупки. Средний чек концепции — 160 рублей. Таким образом, только на этом процессе бизнес потерял в выручке 32 000 рублей.
Интерфейс отчета из системы контроля и управления персоналом SteadyControl

Отсутствие сотрудника на месте

Общение с гостями и прием заказов — не единственная обязанность линейного персонала. Бывает, что клиент пришел, а кассир занят приемкой товара, работой с документацией или другими процессами. В среднем, посетитель общепита может ждать до 30 секунд. Это хорошо видно на примере фуд-корта: если есть возможность купить в другом месте — клиент предпочтет этот вариант долгому ожиданию.

Важно не просто донести до персонала приоритетность задач, а контролировать соблюдение стандартов на всем трафике. С системой SteadyControl это стало не только возможно, но и удобно: алгоритмы распознают отсутствие сотрудника на рабочем месте и информируют о «потерянных» посетителях.

Безынициативность персонала

Однако даже присутствие на точке не гарантирует, что гость уйдет с покупкой. Вторая по частоте причина отказа от обслуживания — равнодушный сотрудник. Посетителю порой сложно сориентироваться в меню, особенно — в первый визит. При этом, согласно исследованию SteadyControl HoReCa, порядка 60% гостей общепита сталкиваются с отсутствием инициативы.

Видя растерянность клиента, необходимо выявить спрос и помочь в выборе позиции. В идеале — прописать такой сценарий в стандартах работы, подкрепив определенными формулировками, и четко соблюдать. Например, если гость в растерянности — предложить помощь, проинформировать об акциях или сезонных предложениях. В крупнейшей сети магазинов японской и паназиатской кухни «Суши Wok» рост инициативы каждого сотрудника привел к тому, что клиенты стали на 80% реже уходить без покупки.


Видя растерянность клиента, необходимо выявить спрос и помочь в выборе позиции.

Неумение отработать стоп-лист

Допустим, гость подробно изучил меню, делает долгожданный выбор, а в ответ получает отказ. Если при этом клиенту не предложили альтернативную позицию, отсутствие блюда заводит диалог в тупик. В среднем, из-за неумения отрабатывать стоп-листы, общепит теряет до 15% трафика.
Даже если гость целенаправленно пришел за конкретным товаром, а его нет в наличии — позаботьтесь, чтобы он не ушел без покупки. Пусть сотрудник проявит экспертность и предложит замену позиции на основе предпочтений клиента. Нет круассана — расскажите, что слойки только из печи. Добавьте в систему SteadyControl соответствующий критерий, чтобы у сотрудников был четкий алгоритм действий, и в процентном отношении отслеживайте его соблюдение. Например, в одной из крупнейших российский сетей — «Крошке-Картошке» — комплексная работа над этим процессом привела к тому, что случаи отсутствия картошки на точках снизилось в 6 раз. Это позволило сократить потерянных гостей с 70 до 5 в месяц.
Рассылка SteadyControl
для собственников и руководителей
Подпишитесь и получайте свежие материалы об эффективном управлении персоналом на почту: кейсы, экспертные разборы и готовые решения
1 853 подписчика

Отказ гостю из-за «полной посадки»

Порой в ресторанах случаются казусы, когда клиенту с порога отказывают в посадке в полупустом ресторане. Вполне закономерно, что у гостя это вызывает недоумение. Хостес аргументируют это бронью столов, но зачастую такой подход продиктован инертностью персонала. К примеру, если план по количеству чеков или выручки выполнен, сотрудники могут себе позволить отказать в обслуживании. Такие действия хостес в разы снижают оборачиваемость стола.

Эффективный сотрудник всегда найдет подходящий столик и поможет сориентироваться в заведении. Например, расскажет, на сколько зарезервировано место и уточнит — устроит ли гостя время до брони. По данным исследования Khoros, хороший сервис в 86% случаев является превалирующим фактором при превращении разового клиента в постоянного. Грамотная работа хостес позволит посетителю почувствовать себя желанным гостем и убедит вернуться в ресторан снова.

Система SteadyControl позволяет увидеть, скольким клиентам отказали в обслуживании и по какой причине. Управляющий ежедневно получает данные по эффективности каждого сотрудника и может индивидуально отработать каждый инцидент.

Опоздания сотрудника и не вовремя открытая точка

Нарушение графика работы — неочевидная, но системная причина потери гостей. Время работы концепции, как правило, зависит от ее местоположения. Например, пекарни и кофейни располагаются у бизнес-центров или университетов. Чтобы перехватывать трафик в час-пик, персоналу нужно приходить чуть раньше и готовить точку к открытию. При этом многие линейные сотрудники, особенно в сетевых проектах, открывают заведение на 10−15 минут позже графика. В результате, утренний трафик и лояльность клиентов теряются, а концепция с идеальным расположением превращается в убыточный проект.

К примеру, пекарни крупной воронежской сети «Робин Сдобин» располагаются на остановках общественного транспорта. Каждая должна открываться рано утром, чтобы гости до работы успевали купить свежую выпечку. С системой SteadyControl удалось довести до идеала соблюдение графиков открытия точек: трудовая дисциплина выросла на 30% и достигла максимального показателя, что сыграло свою роль в увеличении выручки на 5−20%.

Порой бизнес фокусируется на стратегических задачах, требующих серьезных вложений, пока примитивные нарушения не дают раскрыть уже доступный потенциал концепции. Именно работа над улучшением базовых процессов способна повлиять на выручку и помогает выстроить стабильный и клиентоориентированный сервис.

Материалы по теме

Журнал SteadyControl
Как эффективно управлять персоналом в HoReCa: кейсы, интервью, аналитика и готовые решения. Два раза в месяц от экспертов SteadyControl
1 853 подписчика
Подключите систему контроля и управления персоналом
Оставьте заявку: покажем систему SteadyControl, кейсы партнёров и ответим на все вопросы
Свяжемся в течении дня с 10:00 до 18:00